Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

Seen Not Heard
by Mark Flannery

Q: Running for a ball behind the baseline near the fence, I called "ball on" and stopped play when I heard another ball bounce near my feet, thinking I was going to step on it. My doubles partner and opponents looked at me, perplexed. Like me, they hadn't seen it. I then figured out that the ball had come from the court behind us and bounced around on the other side of the fence where only I had heard it. Not sure what to do, I gave them the point. But later, I wonder if I was wrong to stop play?

A: Mark, Yes you lost the point but you may the right call. While the rules allow any player to call a "let" in a non-officiated match for a stray ball that comes onto the court. But one must have to come onto your court. In your case no ball came on so there really was no "let" point to your opponent(s) Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2020 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open