Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

Change over
by sam

Q: My partner and I chose to use the changeover time to volley a match ball to each other on our side of the net. We ceased when the change time was over (ie we did not hold up play). I could find nothing in the USTA rules covering this, other than maybe undo wear and tear on the ball, which was minimal. Is there a rule to cover this?

A: USTA Regulation III.H.6 prohibit the use of the match balls for practice during the Intermission of a match. Regulation III.H.5 requires other than the match balls be used (if other balls are availiable)for the re warmup period after match play has been suspended for. But nothing is listed about using them for some type of practic during a 90 second changeover or the 2 minute set break. But I would think that the intent of the rules listed is that you do not use them to practice with other than during the pre match warmup. Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2020 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open