Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

who's call is it?
by renee

Q: The opponent thinks it touched/nicked your racquet before their shot went flying out,who's call is it? yours -(the raquet holder) or your opponent? Everyone agrees the ball was out.

A: When playing in an unofficiated match (no on court official) players are playing under The Code. The Code is clear on this point that the players are to make the calls on their side of the court with reguards to the following *a ball touches the Player or the players racket. *the player touches the net. *the player touches the player's opponent's court. *the player hits the ball before it crosses the net. *the player deliberately carries or double hits the ball *the ball bounces more than once in the player's court. So if your opponent claims the ball hit you or your racket before going out, it is your call. And if receiving a ruling about the rules of tennis that you do not believe, or know to be incorrect you can ask for the referee to confirm or correct a ruling. Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2020 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open