Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

Who can serve when set goes to tie break?
by johnhwy1

Q: The score is now 6 to 6 and we are going to a tie break. Our opponents just served last. It is our serve but do we have to keep that 6 to 6 rotation or can the have the stronger server start? Also can we change sides I.E. Add or duece?

A: The rules state that the server who's turn it would be to serve next must start the Tie Break and you keep the same service rotation for the Tie Break. All players must stay in the same locations they were playing in the set (Forehand or Backhand) till the Tie Break is completed. Than you can change things for the start of the next set with the team that received the serve of the first point of the Tie Break serving the first game of the new set. Hope that clears it up for you.
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2020 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open