Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

Foot Faults
by Cheryl

Q: While playing a USTA match this weekend my opponent was foot faulting. At 1-0 in the third set their Captain came on the court and told our opponents. Can their Captain do that? Then, to correct the situation, how should we proceed? Should our opponents have requested a lines person themselves? What should be done in the future? Thanks,

A: There is no coaching allowed in the Adult USTA League play during the match execpt during the authorized rest peroid between the 2nd and 3rd sets and the player(s) are off the court. What the captain did was wrong under the rules of tennis. Handle the foot faulting by first warning the opponent(s), Than get an official if one is on-site (but with most league matches none are available) so after you have warned your opponent(s)and the problem continues and it is so flagrant as to be clearly seen from your side of the net you are allowed to call a foot fault on your opponent(s) Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2020 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open